My BBM Journey: Between Challenges and When the Bell Rings

Hi everyone!

How are you guys doing with this little gap in between Bikini Body Mommy and the re-release of 2.0 on September 8th?

For me it has been busy as ever since the challenge wrapped up. My baby girl started Kindergarten and my sister is also in school, she is enrolled in high school here in Western KY. The last week has been a whirlwind of last minute appointments and paper work and orientations and all the things that go along with kids being in school. However, this is all brand new for me, the first year I’ve been a mom with school age children, and since I was homeschooled after 2nd grade, I find the whole thing even more of a challenge to grasp and get the hang of.

017

But here we are, on day 3, and everything is beginning to be more routine and the girls are doing great so far, I’m proud of them! As for the workouts, I have made a point to plan them carefully into our day. Until the new challenge starts we are picking random days from 2.0 and doing one as soon as I pick the girls up in the afternoon. It gives them a little break mentally before we dive into evening home work and adds a little energy boost to the roughest part of the afternoon.

I’m still trying to get my run in after I drop the girls off in the morning, but to be honest, little man has kept me busy without his Sissy to play with and I have a deadline on chores and house work since the evenings are dedicated to home work, making dinner, and timely bedtime. Thankfully my nutrition is better. Since it’s just me and little man, and I’m busier in the morning, I have been eating smaller portions of either left overs, fresh fruit, or salad since those are quick and easy to grab.

I am also packing the girls’ lunches, and have been getting some ideas from Pinterest, of course, to keep from sending them with the same old thing. Feeding my girls healthy, nutritious food is my absolute passion. I firmly believe that if they are going to think and perform at their best, they have to be fueled properly. So with that, I will post my very first school lunch recipe post. Tell me what you think. 🙂

Ham and Cheese Rolls with Cranberry Walnut Spread

Cranberry Walnut Spread

1/2 cup dried cranberries

water

1/2 cup walnut halves

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

Rehydrate cranberries by placing them in a pan with just enough water to barely cover them. Bring to a simmer and cook for about 5 minutes or until the cranberries are plump and most of the water is absorbed. Drain any excess liquid. Set aside to cool for 10 minutes.

Place cranberries and walnuts in a food processor and process for about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides and add the yogurt. Process for another 2 minutes till everything is well blended. Chill for at least 30 minutes before using. Store in the refrigerator.

Makes about 1 cup of spread

Ham and Cheese Rolls

4 slices of premium deli ham

1 slice of premium deli swiss cheese, cut into four strips

4 small leaves of leaf lettuce

2 tsp. cranberry walnut spread

Lay down a slice of ham, spread with about half a teaspoon of cranberry walnut spread, layer on the cheese and the lettuce and roll up the ham. Setting it down on it’s seam will help it stay rolled. Repeat with the rest of the ingredients.

004

 

 

008

 

NOTES: I made these for the first day of school and the kids loved them. They are a great alternative to a sandwich. You can really use any kind of meat or cheese, and even have fun with these. Rolling up some thinly sliced granny smith apple in addition to or in place of the lettuce adds crunch and variety, or cucumber slices, or julienned carrot, you name it. So many variations are possible here. Today I sent 4 of these rolls, a small container of bite sized watermelon, a yogurt, and a little baggy of chocolate, cranberry, mixed nut trail mix. Who says school lunch has to be boring chips and a sandwich?

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

What is BBM?

Bikini Body Mommy, a movement led by Briana Christine, and you can find out more at http://www.bikinibodymommy.com

Did you miss my first post outlining my goals? Find it here.

My Newest Project: An Overview

Looking to find some inspiration on Pinterest? You can follow me there too.

To get my new posts as I continue to reach for my goals, delivered right to your inbox, hit the subscribe button at the top left of this page, right under my profile picture.

And finally, has this post delighted, inspired, or amused you? Feel free to share it with your friends.

Leave a comment